Home > About Armenia

1/Sevan - a popular holiday destination of Armenians, besides this, the lake is known far beyond the borders of the country.

20 facts about Sevan

1 / Sevan is the largest lake in Armenia. The lake is freshwater, located in the region of Gegharkunik

2 / Sevan is located at an altitude of 1900 m; area of 1240 km (1360 km before lowering the level), depth up to 99 m

3/28 rivers flow into the lake, one river Hrazdan flows out (tributary of Araks) Lake of tectonic nature.

Sevan is surrounded by mountain ranges: from the north-west - Pambak, from the north-east - Sevan and Areguni, from the west and south - Gegamsky and Vardenis ridges

4 / Sevan is the second largest freshwater lake in the world, second only to Lake Titicaca.

5 / Sevan is divided into two parts: Small and Big Sevan.

6 / Lake Sevan - freshwater, the water surface has an azure-blue color.

7 / Mineralization of water is about 700 mg / l, dry residue is 0.5 g / l.

8 / Sevan is the only large guaranteed source of fresh water in Armenia and the largest in the whole Caucasus.

9 / In 1848, the question was raised about the use of lake water for irrigation of land along the left bank of Hrazdan.

10 / At the beginning of the twentieth century, several proposals appear on the use of lake water for practical purposes.

11 / In 1923, a plan was implemented for the use of water in the needs of the national economy, and in 1931 the first scheme of lowering the lake level appeared.

12 / In 1933, after the project was approved, work began on creating artificial flow paths and deepening the channel of the Hrazdan River.

13 / At the beginning of 2006, the increase in water level compared to last year was 41 cm.

14 / During 2006–2010, the lake level rose by 25–35 cm per year.

15 / Sevan trout (ishkhan, Salmo ischchan) is an endemic fish species, but its existence is endangered by competing fish species introduced or caught in the lake from other places.

16 / The lake is an important center of the population of the Armenian gull (Larus armenicus), the number of which reaches 4000-5000 pairs.

17 / Lake Sevan is known for being on the coast cultural monuments and recreational resources: mineral springs, clean air, beautiful nature.

18 / Experts say that it is possible to save Lake Sevan only when its minimum level is raised by 6 meters.

19 / For the first time in three years, the water level in Lake Sevan reached a critical level of 1897 cm.

20 / Destruction of Lake Sevan could turn into an environmental catastrophe for Armenia

Among the highland lakes of the world of Sevan in the Armenian Highland occupies a special place.

The colors of the rainbow shine its waters, fanned by many legends.Once upon a time there were fertile arable land and lush gardens, which were irrigated from the key. It was small, but strong, and the hole from which it flowed had to be locked with a huge stone. But once there was a misfortune: one frivolous beauty, always hovering in the clouds, took a jug of water, and forgot to close the hole of the spring. Returned home and went to bed. And the water all night gushing a powerful stream and flooded the neighborhood. People ran out of the houses - and the water approached the threshold. They climbed the trees - and the water rose higher and higher. The girl slept and did not suspect anything. And then one of the old men shouted: "Let the one who did it turn into a stone!" And the water all came and came. Until the lake and the stone island were formed, which still towers above the azure surface of Sevan, like the head of that very girl ...

2/Yerevan

The birth of Yerevan as a residence and name, like other old and new famous cities, is associated with an ancient legend. And if Rome was founded by brothers Romulus and Remus, and the city is named after them, the name of Athens is associated with the Greek goddess Athena-Pallada, then the name of Yerevan is traditionally associated with the Flood and Noah's Ark. According to legend, when, after the flood, Noah's Ark sank to the top of Ararat, Noah came out of the ark with three sons, daughters-in-law and grandchildren and looked around. The water moved, and he saw something darkening in the distance. Noah was delighted, stretched out his hand in that direction and exclaimed: “Erevats, Yerevan” ... (“Appeared, appeared ...”) He meant the earth. It is said that it was later, on this hill, seen by Noah, that the city was built and called it Yerevan.

And finally, Yerevan is older than Rome.

[

3/ Dilijan

They say that if there was a forest, mountains and mineral springs in paradise, then paradise would be similar to Dilijan. Perhaps the best place Dilijan reserve Agartsin gorge. In the upper reaches of the Haghartsin River, the left tributary of the Agstev River, in the 18 km from Dilijan and 6 km from the highway, the Aghartsnavank monastery is located. At 2 x km from the monastery are the ruins of the medieval village Haghartsin which gave the name to the monastery.

The oldest building of the monastic complex of the Church of St. Grigor (St. Gregory) was built at the end of the X century. fled from persecution by monks from Western Armenia under Byzantium. It is of medium size, rectangular in plan, cross-shaped inside the structure with chapels in 4-x corners topped with a dome on an octahedral drum.

4/ Tsaghkadzor

The name of the small resort town of Tsakhkadzor literally translates as “gorge of flowers”. Previously, the city was called Kecharis - in Armenian it is “birch grove”. Neither one nor the other describes in any way the main tourist value of the city and does not explain why every winter crowds of pilgrims go to conquer the mountains of Tsakhkadzor on skis, snowboards, sleds and quad bikes.

Snow Tsakhkadzor (Ծաղկաձոր), the hottest point of winter Armenia, is just 50 km from Yerevan, so getting here is easy on any type of transport. A small center - a neat square, like a garland entwined with a cafe around the perimeter, a long street ending with the Museum of the Orbeli Brothers - that’s probably all that you can see without resorting to sports ammunition.

They say that Osip Mandelstam lived in one of the wooden and some fabulous houses of Tsakhkadzor in the 1930s. Here, according to legend, he wrote some poems of the famous Armenian cycle. However, the locals did not hear about it, so finding a poet’s house is a quest for literary critics. Other extremals - to the Kecharis church.

Here, at the monastery of the XI century, is the base of the winter transport of the XXI century. Snowmobiles are waiting for all lovers to cut the snowy expanses at breakneck speed.

Then only the mountains. Nearby overlooking the main tourist attraction of the city - the cable car. People of all ages in tracksuits, with skis or snowboards at the ready hurry to conquer the Tsakhkadzor slopes. For lack of their own, skiing and snowboarding can be rented. The trails in Tsakhkadzor are different - for beginners, experienced and self-confident skiers and snowboarders. You can work with an instructor here, too, so if you want to learn to skate, you won’t find a better place. Upstairs for the frozen and flushed there is a cafe, where you can have a snack with burning salvation or just drink tea - and then down again.

5/ Legents of Tatev

The Tatev Monastery of the Armenian Apostolic Church is one of the main spiritual, political and cultural centers of medieval Armenia. During its existence, he visited the fortress, the residence of the Metropolitan and the university. For 1100 years, it rises on a triangular plateau near the village of Tatev, which is located in the historical region of Armenia, Syunik.Tatev has a lot of legends. Why does the name of the monastery translate from Old Armenian as “Give wings”? Why does the eight-meter column of Gavazan, the world's oldest seismograph, swing and not fall? Now we will tell you about it. About the Wings After completing the work at the Tatev Monastery, the master builder appealed to the workers crowding below asking to bring him two chips, then took them, kissed and said: “Fires, surb,ta tev”, which translates from Armenian as: “May the Holy Spirit Wings.No sooner had the master finished speaking how did his wings grow behind his back, and he flew away unknown where. And the monastery was called “Tatev” - in honor of the master, whose request “Fires, Surb, Ta Tev” was heard by God. A priest and a clergyman, who once built the monastery, once argued about pride, argued about pride about who would complete his work faster.A few days later, the priest noticed that the master was about to finish the construction, and went to the trick. He draped the area, not yet covered with water, with a long white cloth - so that from a distance, swayed by the wind, it looked like a waterfall. The trick worked: the master, already laying the last stone, looked back and saw the water falling in the distance. Not able to lose, he rushed from the walls of the monastery and died.The stream was subsequently named Priest's Creek. Since the ancient times, Snake water in Syunik has been considered the patroness of the hearth. Armenians firmly believe that happiness and peace will forever leave the home of the one who destroys the snake. There is another legend: somehow a poisonous snake was “scooped up” along with the water from the river. This saw the raven living in the monastery.He rushed into the pot and pecked at the snake, which before his death managed to sting the bird. Grateful monks buried the crow who saved them near the monastery walls. About the rocking pillar Not far from the southern wall of the church of St. Gregory, an eight-meter-high Gavazan column crowned with a stone cross, a khachkar, is installed on a stepped pedestal.Her name translates from Armenian as “staff”. The brilliant architect of antiquity managed to create a swinging stela. By pushing the column, you can set it in motion. For centuries, the mystery of this peculiar seismograph, which warned the monks about the cataclysm ripening in the bowels of the planet, remained unknown. They say that she also warned about the attack of the enemy troops, beginning to sway from the slender step of the soldiers. The Arabs who captured Tatev in the 10th century decided to demolish Gavazan, but he withstood.Ten pairs of buffaloes then chained, which tied the stele. But the chains broke, the buffaloes fell into the abyss, and the invaders, who decided that it was a sign from above, left the monastery without touching it. Gavazan survived even after the devastating earthquake of 1931, when both the church and the church of St. Grigor Lusavorich, and the porch and belfry collapsed. An attempt to penetrate the secret of the column was made by architects in the middle of the last century. Unfortunately, after this Gavazan began to sway much worse. You can see the monastery with your own eyes by downloading our 3D model of Tatev.

en_USEnglish
ru_RURussian en_USEnglish

Home > Об Армении

1/Севан — популярное место отдыха армян, кроме этого озеро известно далеко за пределами страны.

20 фактов об озере Севан

1/ Севан — самое большое озеро в Армении.Озеро пресноводное, находится в области Гегаркуник

2/Севан расположен на высоте 1900 м; площадь 1240 км (1360 км до понижения уровня), глубина до 99 м

3/ В озеро впадает 28 рек, вытекает одна река Раздан (приток Аракса) Озеро тектонического запрудного

характера. Севан окружён горными хребтами: с северо-запада — Памбакским, с северо-востока — Севанским и Арегуни, с запада и юга — Гегамским и Варденисским хребтами

4/ Севан – второе по запасам пресной воды горное озеро в мире, уступающее лишь озеру Титикака.

5/ Севан делится на две части: Малый и Большой Севан.

6/ Озеро Севан — пресноводное, водная поверхность имеет лазурно-синий цвет.

7/ Минерализация воды около 700 мг/л, сухой остаток составляет 0,5 г/л.

8/ Севан — единственный крупный гарантированный источник пресной воды в Армении и крупнейший на всём Кавказе.

9/ В 1848 году был поднят вопрос об использовании воды озера для орошения земель по левому берегу Раздана.

10/ В начале XX века появляется несколько предложений по использованию вод озера в практических целях.

11/ В 1923 году был реализован план по использованию вод в нуждах народного хозяйства, а в 1931 году появляется первая схема понижения уровня озера.

12/ В 1933 году после одобрения проекта начались работы по созданию искусственных путей стока и углублению русла реки Раздан.

13/ В начале 2006 года подъём уровня воды по сравнению с прошлым годом составил 41 см.

14/ В течение 2006 – 2010 уровень озера поднимался на 25 – 35 см в год.

15/ Севанская форель (ишхан, Salmo ischchan) является эндемическим видом рыбы, но её существование находится под угрозой из-за конкурирующих видов рыб, завезённых или попавших в озеро из других мест.

16/ Озеро является важным центром популяции армянской чайки (Larus armenicus), численность которой здесь достигает 4000—5000 пар.

17/ Озеро Севан известно находящимися на побережье памятниками культуры и рекреационными ресурсами: минеральными источниками, чистым воздухом, красивой природой.

18/ Специалисты утверждают, что сохранить озеро Севан можно только при подъеме его уровня минимун на 6 метров.

19/ Впервые за три года уровень воды в озере Севан дошел до критической отметки- 1897 см.

20/ Уничтожение озеро Севан может обернуться экологической катастрофой для Армении

Среди высокогорных озер мира Севан на Армянском нагорье занимает особое место.

Семью цветами радуги сияют его воды, овеянные множеством преданий и легенд. Когда-то на этом месте были плодородные пашни и пышные сады, которые орошала вода из ключа. Он был небольшой, но сильный, и отверстие, откуда он вытекал, приходилось запирать огромным камнем. Но однажды случилась беда: одна легкомысленная красавица, вечно витавшая в облаках, набрала кувшин воды, а закрыть отверстие родника забыла. Вернулась домой и легла спать. А вода всю ночь хлестала мощным потоком и заливала окрестности. Люди выбегали из домов – а вода подступала к порогу. Они забирались на деревья – а вода поднималась все выше. Девушка же спала и ничего не подозревала. И тут кто-то из стариков закричал: «Пусть тот, кто это сделал, превратится в камень!» Забывчивая красавица проснулась, выскочила на порог своего дома и тут же окаменела. А вода все прибывала и прибывала. Пока не образовались озеро и каменный остров, который и ныне возвышается над лазурной гладью Севана, как голова той самой девушки…

2/Ереван

Рождение Еревана как места жительства и название, подобно другим старым и новым известным городам, связано с древней легендой. И если Рим основали братья Ромул и Рем, и город назван их именами, наименование Афин связывают с греческой богиней Афиной-Палладой, то название Еревана традиционно связано с всемирным потопом и Ноевым ковчегом. Согласно легенде, когда после потопа Ноев ковчег опустился на вершину Арарата, Ной вышел из ковчега с тремя сыновьями, невестками и внуками и огляделся по сторонам. Вода отошла, и он увидел что-то темнеющее вдали. Ной обрадовался, простер руку в ту сторону и воскликнул: «Еревац, еревац»… («Появилась, появилась…») Он имел в виду землю. Рассказывают, что именно впоследствии, на этой возвышенности, увиденной Ноем, построили город и назвали его Ереваном.

И наконец Ереван старше Рима.

[

3/Дилижан

Говорят, если бы в раю был лес, горы и минеральные источники, то рай был бы похож на Дилижан. Едва ли не лучшее место Дилижанского заповедника Агарцинское ущелье. В верховье реки Агарцин, левый приток реки Агстев, в18 км от Дилижана и в 6 км от трассы расположился монастырь Агарцнаванк. В 2-x км от монастыря находятся развалины средневекового села Агарцин давшего название монастырю.

Древнейшее сооружение монастырского комплекса церковь Сурб Григор (Св. Григорий) была построена в конце X в. бежавшими от преследований монахами из Западной Армении подвластной Византии. Это средней величины, прямоугольное в плане, крестообразное внутри строение с приделами в 4-x углах увенчанное куполом на восьмигранном барабане.

4/ Цахкадзор

Название маленького курортного городка Цахкадзор буквально переводится как «ущелье цветов». Раньше город назывался Кечарис – по-армянски это «березовая роща». Ни то, ни другое никак не описывает главную туристическую ценность города и не объясняет, зачем каждую зиму толпы паломников отправляются покорять горы Цахкадзора на лыжах, сноубордах, санках и квадроциклах.

Снежный Цахкадзор (Ծաղկաձոր), самая горячая точка зимней Армении, находится всего в 50 км от Еревана, так что добраться сюда легко на любом виде транспорта. Небольшой центр – аккуратная площадь, как гирляндой увитая кафе по периметру, длинная улица, завершающаяся музеем братьев Орбели – вот, пожалуй, и все, что можно посмотреть, не прибегая к помощи спортивной амуниции.

Говорят, в одном из деревянных и немного сказочных домов Цахкадзора в 1930 годах жил Осип Мандельштам. Тут по легенде он писал некоторые стихи знаменитого армянского цикла. Однако местные жители слышать об этом не слышали, так что отыскать дом поэта – квест для литературоведов. Прочим экстремалам – к церкви Кечарис.

Тут, у монастыря XI века, находится база зимнего транспорта века XXI. Квадроциклы и снегоходы ждут всех любителей рассекать снежные просторы на бешеной скорости.

Дальше только горы. Неподалеку открывается вид на главную туристическую достопримечательность города – канатную дорогу. Люди всех возрастов в спортивных костюмах, с лыжами или сноубордами наперевес спешат покорять цахкадзорские склоны. За неимением своих, лыжи и сноуборд можно взять напрокат. Трассы в Цахкадзоре есть разные – для новичков, бывалых и уверенных в себе лыжников и сноубордистов. С инструктором можно позаниматься и тут, так что если хочется научиться кататься – лучше места не найти. Наверху для замерзших и раскрасневшихся есть кафе, где можно перекусить обжигающим спасом или просто попить чаю – а потом снова вниз.

5/ Легенды Татева

Татевский монастырь Армянской Апостольской Церкви — один из главных духовных, политических и культурных центров средневековой Армении. За время своего существования он побывал крепостью, резиденцией митрополита и университетом. Уже 1100 лет он возвышается на треугольном плато недалеко от села Татев, что находится в исторической области Армении Сюник. Татев оброс множеством легенд. Почему название монастыря переводится с древнеармянского как «Дай крылья»? Почему качается и не падает восьмиметровая колонна Гавазан, самый древний в мире сейсмограф? Сейчас мы вам об этом расскажем. О крыльях Завершив работу в Татевском монастыре, мастер-строитель обратился к столпившимся внизу рабочим с просьбой принести ему две щепы, затем взял их, поцеловал и произнес: «Огни, сурб, та тэв», что переводится с армянского как: «Да ниспошлет Святой Дух крылья». Не успел мастер договорить, как выросли у него за спиной крылья, и улетел он неизвестно куда. А монастырь назвали «Татев» — в честь мастера, чья просьба «Огни, сурб, та тэв» была услышана Богом. О гордыне Поспорили как-то строивший монастырь мастер и священнослужитель, проводивший воду к монастырю, о том, кто быстрее завершит свое дело. Спустя несколько дней священник заметил, что мастер вот-вот закончит строительство, и пошел на хитрость. Он задрапировал участок, еще не покрытый водой, длинным белым полотнищем — так, чтобы с расстояния, колеблемое ветром, оно выглядело, как водопад. Уловка сработала: мастер, уже укладывая последний камень, оглянулся и увидел вдали низвергающуюся воду. Не умеющий проигрывать, он бросился со стен монастыря и погиб. Ручей же впоследствии назвали Ручьем священника. О воде Змея в Сюнике издревле считалась покровительницей домашнего очага. Армяне свято верят, что счастье и покой навсегда покинут дом того, кто погубит змею. Существует и другая легенда: как-то вместе с водой из реки «зачерпнули» ядовитую змею. Это увидел поселившийся в обители ворон. Он бросился в котелок и заклевал змею, которая перед смертью успела ужалить птицу. Благодарные монахи похоронили спасшего их ворона близ монастырских стен. О качающейся колонне Неподалеку от южной стены церкви Святого Григора установлена на ступенчатом пьедестале восьмиметровая колонна Гавазан, увенчанная каменным крестом — хачкаром. Ее название переводится с армянского как «посох». Гениальный архитектор древности сумел создать качающуюся стелу. Толкнув колонну, можно привести ее в движение. Веками оставалась непознанной тайна этого своеобразного сейсмографа, предупреждавшего монахов о зреющем в недрах планеты катаклизме. Говорят, что она же предупреждала и о нападении вражеского войска, начиная раскачиваться от стройного шага воинов. Арабы, захватившие Татев в X веке, решили снести Гавазан, но он устоял. Десять пар буйволов тянули тогда цепи, которыми обвязали стелу. Но цепи порвались, буйволы рухнули в пропасть, а захватчики, решившие, что это был знак свыше, покинули монастырь, так его и не тронув. Гавазан устоял даже после разрушительного землетрясения 1931 года, когда рухнули и храм, и церковь Святого Григора Лусаворича, и паперть, и звонница. Попытку проникнуть в тайну колонны архитекторы предприняли в середине прошлого века. К сожалению, после этого Гавазан стал раскачиваться гораздо хуже. Увидеть монастырь своими глазами вы можете, скачав нашу 3D-модель Татева.

Bitnami